Friends of the orchestra recommends

Friends of the Oslo Philharmonic is a meeting place for us with a big heart for the Oslo Philharmonic and classical music.

As a member of Friends of the Oslo Philharmonic, you can attend exclusive concerts, take part in concert tours, take part in orchestra rehearsals, get favorable ticket arrangements and much more. At you can read fun and interesting articles about the orchestra, the musicians and classical music in the news blog "Allegro". We are very much looking forward to this year's season, and recommend going to these concerts:


This week, two major classical stars are soloists on separate evenings. First up is Vilde Frang, the soloist in Igor Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto. Klaus Mäkelä also conducts music by George Enescu and Pyotr Tchaikovsky.

  • George Enescu  Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
  • Igor Stravinsky  Violin Concerto
  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky  Symphony No. 4
  • Klaus Mäkelä -  Conductor
  • Vilde Frang -  Fiolin

Klaus Mäkelä conducts Johann Sebastian Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3 with his famous piece Air, Thomas Adès’ orchestral work Asyla, and Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 4, in which he bases his last symphony movement on Bach’s music.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach  Orchestral Suite No. 3
  • Thomas Adès  Asyla
  • Johannes Brahms  Symphony No. 4
  • Klaus Mäkelä -  Conductor

Klaus Mäkelä conducts Dmitri Shostakovich’ first and last symphony, written 45 years apart. Symphony No. 1 was Shostakovich's international breakthrough. Symphony No. 15 is an ambiguous look back at the history of music and his own music.

  • Dmitri Shostakovich  Symphony No. 1
  • Dmitri Shostakovich  Symphony No. 15
  • Klaus Mäkelä -  Conductor

Klaus Mäkelä conducts the Oslo Philharmonic with Oslo Philharmonic Choir and soloists in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s immortal farewell work Requiem. Kaija Saariaho brings Greek mythology to life in the orchestral work Orion.

  • Kaija Saariaho  Orion
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  Requiem
  • Klaus Mäkelä -  Conductor
  • Sandrine Piau -  Soloist
  • Sasha Cooke -  Soloist
  • Laurence Kilsby -  Soloist
  • Benjamin Appl -  Soloist
  • Oslo Philharmonic Choir - 
  • Øystein Fevang -  Choir conductor

American Hilary Hahn is one of classical music’s biggest stars. At this concert she is the soloist in Antonín Dvořák’s Violin Concerto. The Spanish conductor Roberto González-Monjas also conducts Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7.

  • Jean Sibelius  Pan and Echo: Dance Intermezzo
  • Antonín Dvořák  Violin Concerto
  • Ludwig van Beethoven  Symphony No. 7
  • Roberto Gonzalez-Monjas -  Conductor
  • Hilary Hahn -  Violin

Roberto Gonzalez-Monjas
Hilary Hahn
Jean Sibelius
Antonín Dvořák
Ludwig van Beethoven

Oslo Concert Hall