Oslo Philharmonic on tour to the United Kingdom

In 2019 the Oslo Philharmonic will spend more time on the road than usual.

Photo CF Wesenberg

The Oslo Philharmonic's anniversary season 2019/20 is approaching, and the celebrations get an early start with two international tours.

The orchestra will perform with a piano soloist in the United Kingdom; Russian Nikolai Lugansky. On the tour, spanning from 6th to 10th March, he will perform Sergei Rachmaninoff's third piano concerto twice and Edvard Grieg's piano concerto three times.

Vasily Petrenko will conduct the concerts in Cardiff, Nottingham, Birmingham, Leeds and Gateshead, and the orchestra will also play Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet, Sibelius’ Symphony No. 5, The Walk to the Paradise Garden by Frederick Delius and Rachmaninoff's Symphony No. 1.

The soloist and the tour programs will also be presented in Oslo on 27th and 28th February and in Kristiansand on 3rd March.

Hear the music in Oslo or Kristiansand:

Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3

Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff

Tour concert in Kristiansand

More information about the concerts in the United Kingdom:

Tour Concert in Cardiff

Tour Concert in Nottingham

Tour Concert in Birmingham

Tour Concert in Leeds

Tour Concert in Gateshead

On tour to Spain

From 29th January until 1st February the orchestra was on tour in Spain, and visited three excellent concert halls: Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona, Auditorio Nacional de Música in Madrid (two concerts) and Auditorio de Zaragoza in Zaragoza.

Pianist Simon Trpčeski joined the orchestra as the soloist in all four concerts, alongside Oslo Philharmonic's chief conductor Vasily Petrenko. Trpčeski performed both Johannes Brahms’ piano concertos on the tour.

The Oslo Philharmonic also performed Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade and Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No. 5.