Conductor Eivind Aadland

Eivind Aadland © Knut Bry

Classical Hour: Dvořák

This concert was played:

  1. Symphony No. 8
  1. Eivind Aadland conductor

Eivind Aadland conducts Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, written during an idyllic Czech summer.

Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904) wrote his Symphony No 8 at his Czech holiday home in the summer of 1889. At the time, he was one of the world’s most recognised and popular composers. It had been four years since he last wrote a symphony, and he was brimming with ideas. The result was Dvořák’s perhaps lightest and most idyllic work. It conjures up summer landscapes, the mood evoking Beethoven’s Pastorale Symphony or Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 – also written during the summer.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)


  • Adult: 150 - 380 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 190 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: