Conductor Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä © Marco Borggreve

Klaus Mäkelä conducts Mozart and Beethoven

  1. Marche pour la Ceremonie des Turcs
  2. Violin Concerto No. 5
  3. Overture No. 2
  4. Symphony No. 7
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Isabelle Faust violin

Klaus Mäkelä conducts music with broad European roots: Mozart and Lully took inspiration from Turkish music, and Beethoven composed his Symphony No. 7 while the Napoleonic wars raged on. Isabelle Faust returns for her second concert this season with Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, with its Turkish-inspired finale.

On 14 October 1670, the comédie-ballet Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, written by Molière and with music composed by Jean-Baptiste Lully, was first presented at the court of Louis XIV. The story revolves around a middle-class man, M. Jourdain, who dreams of becoming an aristocrat. His daughter’s suitor cannot live up to Jourdain’s high expectations, so passes himself off as the son of the Sultan of Turkey. At the end of the play, Jourdain is “ennobled” in a ridiculously formal (but false) ceremony, to the sound of Lully’s March for the Turkish Ceremony.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed his fifth – and last – violin concerto as a 19-year-old in 1775. He was a skilled violinist, and he no doubt wrote his violin concertos for himself as a soloist. Through his five concertos, Mozart developed the genre, and his Violin Concerto No. 5 is a varied and innovative piece. Turkish music and culture were an important source of inspiration in 17th- and 18th-century Europe, as exemplified by the 3rd movement of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, named “Turkish”.

Louise Farrenc (1804–1875) was one of the 19th century’s most versatile musical personalities. In the 1820s, she established herself as a concert pianist and started a music publishing house together with her husband. In the 1830s, she started composing orchestral music, and her Overture No. 2 (1834) was first performed in 1840. In the 1840s, she composed three symphonies, and in 1842 she was appointed Professor of Piano at the Paris Conservatory, a position she held for over 30 years.

While his two previous symphonies are known as the Fate Symphony and the Pastorale, Beethoven’s seventh is simply known as Symphony No. 7. Beethoven composed it in 1811 and 1812, and he himself conducted its premiere performance in 1813. The concert, which was held to raise funds for soldiers wounded in the Battle of Hanau, was a great success, marked by enthusiasm over the progress in the Napoleonic wars that had riven Europe for over a decade. The 2nd movement was so popular that audiences demanded an encore, and Beethoven himself regarded the symphony as one of his best works.


  • Adult: 170 - 560 NOK
  • Senior: 170 - 450 NOK
  • Student: 170 - 280 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: