Violinist Lisa Batiashvili

Lisa Batiashvili © Sammy Hart

Lisa Batiashvili plays Tchaikovsky

  1. Violin Concerto
  2. Symphony No. 2
  1. Andres Orozco-Estrada conductor
  2. Lisa Batiashvili violin

Two international stars visit the Oslo Philharmonic, Colombian conductor Andres Orozco-Estrada and Georgian violinist Lisa Batiashvili. The programme includes music by Tchaikovsky and Brahms, written within a year of each other.

In the spring of 1878 Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) travelled to Clarens, a Swiss resort located on the shores of Lake Geneva. Together with a friend who played violin he played through Édouard Lalo’s violin concerto Symphonie espagnole, which premiered in 1875. Within a few weeks of this he wrote his own Violin Concerto in D major. Several years passed before it was performed, and it took even longer before it was a success. However, today it is one of the most popular violin concertos.

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) wrote his Symphony No. 2 over the course of a few months in the beautiful resort town Pörtschach in the summer of 1877 and it was premiered before the year was over. The first people who listened to it were excited about how light and summerlike it was. “It was all blue sky, babbling of streams, sunshine, and cool green shade … by Pörtschach it must be so beautiful!” wrote one of Brahms’ friends about the symphony.


  • Adult: 170 - 560 NOK
  • Senior: 170 - 450 NOK
  • Student: 170 - 280 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: