Conductor Gustavo Gimeno

Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

Maurice Ravel's Daphnis et Chloé

  1. Symphony in D minor
  2. Daphnis and Chloé
  1. Gustavo Gimeno conductor
  2. Oslo Philharmonic Choir
  3. Øystein Fevang choir conductor

The Spanish conductor Gustavo Gimeno presents César Franck’s Symphony in D minor and Maurice Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé for his first concert with the Oslo Philharmonic and the Oslo Philharmonic Choir. The ballet Daphnis et Chloé was created in a storm of conflict, but resulted in a work of orchestral magnificence of which the world had hardly ever heard the equal.

César Franck (1822–1890) grew up in Liège, around the time when Belgium received its independence (in 1830). Franck lived in Paris for most of his life, where for many years he worked as an organist. Opera was the dominant form of music in France, but Franck strove to raise the status of instrumental music. He wrote his most celebrated work, his Symphony in D minor, in 1888, at the end of his life; it became one of the most popular symphonies in the orchestral repertoire in the decades that followed. In it, Franck combines elements from both French and German musical tradition, and the references to Beethoven are particularly pronounced.

Maurice Ravel’s (1875–1937) Daphnis et Chloé had its premiere as a ballet in 1912 in Paris. Many of the greatest artistes of the time were involved in the production, including the dancer Vaslav Nijinsky and the choreographer Michel Fokine. The preparations were dogged by conflict, and Ravel spent a whole year perfecting the final ballet. The end result was a masterful work of orchestral magnificence of which the world had hardly ever heard the equal. The love story of Daphnis and Chloe is taken from a Greek pastoral novel that is believed to have been written in the 2nd century AD.


  • Adult: 220 - 560 NOK
  • Senior: 175 - 450 NOK
  • Student: 170 - 280 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: