Pianist Eric Lu

Eric Lu © Ben Ealovega

From Family Drama to Holiday Idyll

  1. Piano Concerto No. 1
  2. Symphony No. 8
  1. Eivind Aadland conductor
  2. Eric Lu piano

The two composers Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák were friends and harboured a mutual admiration for each other’s work. Eivind Aadland conducts two of their most popular works – with Eric Lu as the soloist in Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1.

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) was twenty years old when he began working on what was going to be his Piano Concerto No. 1. He found himself in the midst of an intense domestic drama: he had almost become part of the family of the famous composer couple Robert and Clara Schumann, when Robert was admitted to a psychiatric institution following a suicide attempt. He died there in 1856, leaving seven children behind. Brahms subsequently fell in love with Clara and developed bonds with her children, remaining close to her for the rest of his life.

The work was completed in 1859, shattering the boundaries for what a concerto could be. Instead of demonstrating the virtuosity of the soloist, as audiences were accustomed to, Brahms instead offered them deep and varied emotional content. Piano Concerto No. 1 grew quickly in popularity, and has become a perennial audience favourite almost everywhere.

When Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904) attempted to establish himself as a composer in the 1870s, Johannes Brahms offered him crucial support. He sat in the jury when Dvořák applied for an artistic scholarship, and was impressed by the latter’s work. This was the start of a collaboration and friendship which endured until Brahms’ death in 1897.

Dvořák wrote his Symphony No 8 at his Czech holiday home in the summer of 1889. At the time, he was one of the world’s most recognised and popular composers. It had been four years since he last wrote a symphony, and he was brimming with ideas. The result was Dvořák’s perhaps lightest and most idyllic work. It conjures up summer landscapes, the mood evoking Beethoven’s Pastorale Symphony or Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 – also written during the summer.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: