Conductor Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä © Marco Borggreve

Easter Concert: Bach's Mass in B minor

  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Oslo Philharmonic Choir
  3. Øystein Fevang choir conductor

Klaus Mäkelä conducts the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir with soloists in J.S. Bach’s musical farewell note, Mass in B-Minor.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) wrote the first part of what was going to be his Mass in B-Minor in 1733 and completed the Mass in 1749, just one year before his death. He never heard the work himself, and almost a century passed before the mass was performed in its entirety – in Leipzig in 1859.

Bach is often named as “the best composer of all time” and in Mass in B-Minor he dazzles the listener, whether the part is for a vocal soloist, solo instrument, smaller ensemble, choir or orchestra. His Mass is considered to be a synthesis of his whole composing life and one of his – and music’s – greatest masterpieces.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: