Conductor Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä © Heikki Tuuli

Classical Hour: Debussy and Ravel

  1. Jeux
  2. Daphnis and Chloé Suite No. 2
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor

Klaus Mäkelä conducts music by French composers with a rich orchestra palette: Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel.

Claude Debussy (1862–1918) composed the music for Jeux (“Games”) for Serge Diaghilev’s legendary Russian ballet troupe in Paris, where it was premiered in 1913. Only a few weeks later, the troupe presented the world premiere of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, on an evening which proved to be one of the greatest cultural milestones and scandals of the 20th century.

Jeux, where the plot takes place on a tennis court, is a more quiet work which has ended up somewhat in the background. It was seldom played for a long time, but in later years many – artists and audiences alike – have grown curious about the multiple nuances and innovations in Debussy’s final completed orchestra work.

Maurice Ravel’s (1875–1937) Daphnis and Chloe was also a commission from Serge Diaghilev, and was performed for the first time in Paris in 1912. The love story of Daphnis and Chloe is taken from a Greek shepherd story, believed to be written around the year 100.

Many of the greatest artists of the time were involved in the production – among others the dancer Vaslav Nijinsky and the choreographer Michel Fokine. The preparations were riddled with conflict, and Ravel spent a whole year perfecting the final dance. The end result was a masterful orchestra work featuring magnificent orchestral colours the world had never heard equal to. Suite No. 2 corresponds to the final part of the ballet music.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!


  • Adult: 150 - 380 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 190 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: