Conductor Simone Young

Simone Young © Sandra Steh

Bruckner’s Monumental Finale

  1. Symphony No. 8
  1. Simone Young conductor

Anton Bruckner’s eighth symphony was the last he completed fully. Simone Young conducts one of the composer’s richest and most contrast-filled works in its original version.

Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) was a singular composer in more ways than one. He was quite mature when he wrote his first orchestra works and remained a controversial figure for the rest of his career. The conductor who was engaged to conduct the world premiere of his Symphony No. 8 sent the score back to the composer as he declared it impossible to perform. It was only five years later, in 1892, that it was played for the first time in Vienna, in a revised version. At this concert, we’ll hear the original version from 1887.

Bruckner’s symphonies had many critics, but he also had friends and admirers, including Gustav Mahler. His eighth symphony boasts an enormous span in terms of sound and expression, ranging from ecstatic fanfares to pitch-black despair. The mighty introduction to the fourth movement is reminiscent of the epic film music of the 20th century, and is said to have been inspired by a visit by the Cossacks to the Emperor in Vienna.

Native Australian Simone Young has broken all kinds of new ground, and she was the first female conductor to record the complete Bruckner symphonies. She has served as Chief Conductor of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and was the Chief Music Director of the Hamburg Philharmonic. She will begin her tenure as Chief Conductor of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra in 2022.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK
Buy ticket

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

Pre-concert talk

With Cecilia Götestam in Glasshuset (in Oslo Concert Hall) at 18.30.

This concert is also played: