Tchaikovsky Mäkelä

Classical Hour: Tchaikovsky

Oslo Concert Hall Concert has been played

Chief conductor Klaus Mäkelä.

Klaus Mäkelä © Marco Borggreve

Classical Hour: Tchaikovsky

Klaus Mäkelä conducts Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s passionate sixth symphony, which received its world premiere just before the composer’s death.

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) was at the summit of his career when he conducted the world premiere of his own sixth symphony in St. Petersburg, on 28 October, 1893. The symphony gained instant popularity, but he was never to experience his own success – he died suddenly only nine days later. Symphony No. 6 has been given the name Pathetique – the passionate. The composer indicated that he had a more concrete programme in mind, but he never had the opportunity to reveal whether the music had a concrete theme.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!

What is played

  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6





Price groups Price
Adult 150 - 380 NOK
Student 150 - 190 NOK
Child 150 NOK


Tchaikovsky Mäkelä

Oslo Concert Hall Concert has been played