Photo of violinist Augustin Hadelich.

Violinist Augustin Hadelich. Photo: Luca Valenta

Mozart and Brahms

This concert was played:

  1. Violin Concerto No. 4
  2. Symphony No. 3
  1. Arvid Engegård conductor
  2. Augustin Hadelich violin

Music of a wide span by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Johannes Brahms.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote all five of his violin concertos around the middle of the 1770s, and No. 4 was created in Salzburg in 1775. Mozart was best known as a pianist, but was also an excellent violinist, and he probably wrote the concerts with himself in mind.

Johannes Brahms was established as one of his time’s greatest composers when he wrote his Symphony No. 3 at the age of 50, in 1883. His musical life motto consisted of the note sequence F-A-F, for frei aber froh - “free, but happy.” The motto was a twist on that of a good friend, who was “free, but lonely.” Brahms had neither family nor a high-ranking position but rejoiced in life as a free artist.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: