Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 1Listen

Schumann's Nerve

This concert was played:

  1. Ouverture, Scherzo and Finale
  2. Cello Concerto
  3. Symphony No. 1, "Spring"
  1. Arvid Engegård conductor
  2. Daniel Müller-Schott cello

​Schumann was a composer who had the ability to make keys sing, strings vibrate, and orchestras bubble with spring fantasies.

As a master of the sounds of his time, sensitive lyricist, and suffering, enlightened artist he hit the romantic nerve of his age, while at the same time achieving a timeless relevance and recognition. Schumann still hits a nerve in us all, and his romantic sound will reverberate in Oslo Concert Hall two evenings in a row when Arvid Engegård, the Oslo Philharmonic and outstanding soloists invite you to this celebration of his music. 

The list of Robert Schumann’s (1810-1856) physical and psychological ailments is one of the longest in music history, and many of them affected his career. For instance, an injury to two of his fingers prevented him from becoming a concert pianist, and he therefore chose to become a composer. Might it have been his restless soul and suffering which left him so sensitive to the emotional outbursts of Romantic art? In any event, he died, depressed and disillusioned, in a psychiatric institution, at the age of forty-six.

Schumann’s great symphonic year was 1841, when he composed Symphony No. 1, Symphony No. 4 (revised 1851), and Ouverture, Scherzo and Finale (revised 1845).  Symphony No. 1 was given the nickname “Spring  Symphony” by the composer himself, and reveals a vibrant Schumann in free creation. The melodies are lighthearted, the sound powerful and the expression charaterised by an excess of energy and optimism. In Symphony No. 4, a forward-thinking Schumann is revealed as none of its movements follow the form conventions of the time. The whole work is played as one and echoes a “symphonic fantasy”, brimming with spontaneous ideas. The same can be said of Ouverture, Scherzo and Finale, which through its innovative form challenged ideas of what a symphony could be in 1841.

For Schumann the Romantic, music was not primarly about new types of form, but about personal expressions transformed into music. His Cello Concerto (1850) was composed at a late stage in his short life, fairly close to the point where his psychological suffering led him to a suicide attempt, hospitalisation and death. Schumann put all his soul into the Cello Concerto, which is defined by a mysterious, dark melancholy, and an emotional complexity and self-scrutiny. It is beyond a doubt a masterpiece, composed by a suffering artist who in his time succeded in striking a nerve, and who still moves audiences the world over with his musical sensitivity.

Arvid Engegård is the successful leader of the Engegård Quartet, as well as a noteworthy violinist and conductor. Here he is joined by two of today’s great soloists. The German cellist Daniel Müller-Schott (b.1976) is already established as a leader on his instrument. Polish-Canadian Jan Lisiecki (b. 1995) has disliked being referred to as a child prodigy since the age of fourteen, but this might well be an unavoidable description, for this twenty-two year old harbours a unique talent.

Welcome to our Schumann celebration!

(Text: Thomas Erma Møller; Translation (from Norwegian): Sarah Osa; In photo: Daniel Müller-Schott; Photo: Christine Schneider)


  • Adult: 100 - 470 NOK
  • Senior: 100 - 375 NOK
  • Student: 100 - 235 NOK
  • Child: 100 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: