Conductor Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä © Marco Borggreve

Mahler's Third Symphony with Klaus Mäkelä

This concert was played:

  1. Symphony No. 3
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Jennifer Johnston mezzo soprano
  3. Oslo Philharmonic Choir (women's choir)
  4. The Norwegian National Opera Chorus (women's choir, prepared by Martin Wettges)
  5. The Children's Choir of The Norwegian Opera and Ballet
  6. Trefoldighet Jentekor
  7. Oslo Cathedral Boys Choir
  8. Øystein Fevang choir conductor
  9. Edle Stray-Pedersen preparation of children's choir

Gustav Mahler absorbed inspiration from every souce during his work with his third symphony: the flowers in the field, the animals in the forest, people, angels and love. Mahler’s longest symphony overflows with diverse, all-encompassing music.

Symphony No. 3 was created over two summers, in 1895 and 1896. Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) composed mostly during the summertime, when he was free from his conducting engagements, and often sat alone in his cabin in the woods, writing for hours.

Mahler worked on the movements based on descriptive titles: the first he named “Pan awakens. Summer Marches In”. The following movements were given the titles “What the Flowers of the Field Tell Me”,What the Animals of the Forest Tell Me”, “What Man tells Me”, “What the Angels Tell Me” and “What Love Tells Me”. Mahler cancelled the titles before the premiere – he thought them superfluous. Still, his myriad sources of inspiration reflect something of the incredible richness of colours, moods and melodies which make up this symphony.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

Pre-concert talk

With Erling E. Guldbrandsen in Glasshuset (i Oslo Concert Hall) at 18:30.

This concert is also played: