Chief conductor Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä © Marco Borggreve

Chief conductor Klaus Mäkelä.

Beethoven's Pastoral Symphony

This concert was played:

  1. Le Chaos from Les elements
  2. Clarinet Concerto
  3. Subito con forza
  4. Symphony No. 6
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Janine Jansen violin
  3. Martin Fröst clarinet

Martin Fröst is the soloist in Aaron Copland's Clarinet Concerto. Klaus Mäkelä conducts a varied programme which concludes with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6.

Jean-Féry Rebel (1666–1747) was an accomplished violinist, a student of the famous composer Jean-Baptiste Lully, and later court composer to Louis XIV. He composed music across a variety of genres, including a string of “choreographed symphonies”. “Chaos” is the introduction to one of these, The Elements from 1738, which describes the chaos which reigns on the brink of creation. The work begins with a powerful dissonance or cluster, which stands unparalleled in 18th century music.

South-Korean composer Unsuk Chin (b. 1961) is one of the most esteemed composers for orchestra of our time. Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) is one of her most significant sources of inspiration, and subito con sforza is written on the occasion of the 250th anniversary of his birth, commissioned by the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam. The short, contrast-filled work contains a number of references to Beethoven’s music, and is inspired by Beethoven’s sketchbooks, in particular the quote: Major and minor. I am a winner.

Beethoven adored nature, and was often inspired during his long walks, taken with a sketchbook under his arm. In his Symphony No. 6, also known as his Pastorale symphony, he offers up a rich description of his impressions of nature, with a short explanation for every movement. The symphony begins with a description of the feeling of happiness that comes with stepping out into the natural world. Later on, the listener hears the quiet flow of a brook, cheerful townspeople and a violent tempest before the idyllic ending.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

Janine Jansen has had to cancel for health reasons.


  • Adult: 580 NOK
  • Student: 290 NOK

The concert is not included in any subscriptions.