Composer and conductor Rolf Gupta

Rolf Gupta © Julia Naglestad

Ultima Opening Concert: Earth's Song

This concert was played:

  1. Earth's Song
  1. Peter Szilvay conductor
  2. Caroline Wettergreen soprano
  3. Christian Stenberg Kløv / Julian Borchgrevink Næss boy soprano
  4. Det Norske Solistkor
  5. Solistkoret Ung
  6. Oslo Domkirkes Guttekor
  7. Trefoldighet jentekor
  8. The Norwegian Opera & Ballet's Children's Choir

Rolf Gupta's Earth's Song is a mighty oratorio for orchestra, choir and soloists, and, according to the composer, a “prayer for our world”. The work received the Critics Prize in 2020.

Earth's Song is based on 3000 year-old Indian texts, the Bible and texts by Friedrich Schiller and Gustav Mahler. In describing the work, the composer remarks,

Earth's Song is a reflection of the wonder, longing and joy of creation. It’s also a warning: if we don’t stop to listen to the song of the earth we are in danger of extinguishing our own lives and the fragile nature that we form a part of. Might we be in the process of destroying ourselves in our frustration over the absence of answers?

In order to protect ourselves, we have to protect our world. It takes care of itself alone, but without us there wouldn’t be anyone to seek and long for an answer to the riddle of infinity. The Earth's Song is a prayer for our world.”

Rolf Gupta (b.1967) is one of the most significant Norwegian conductors of our time, and has been highly active as a composer since the end of the 1980s. He composed Earth's Song as a commision for the 100th-year anniversary of the Kristiansand Symphony Orchestra, with Gupta, the orchestra and conductor Peter Szilvay receiving the Critics Prize in 2020 for the work and the performance.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

In the beginning of the concert Rolf Gupta and Alf van der Hagen will have a conversation on stage.

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!


  • Adult: 190 - 490 NOK
  • Senior: 160 - 395 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 245 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: