Trumpet player Ole Edvard Antonsen

Ole Edvard Antonsen © GT Nergard

Bridges to Our Time

This concert was played:

  1. Trumpet Concerto "Bridge"
  2. Symphony No. 3
  1. Andris Poga conductor
  2. Ole Edvard Antonsen trumpet

Ole Edvard Antonsen is the soloist in Rolf Martinsson’s successful trumpet concerto Bridge. Sergei Rachmaninov casts his eye both forwards and back in his final symphony, conducted by Andris Poga.

Rolf Martinsson (b. 1956) grew up in Skåne and is currently Professor of Composition at the Malmö Academy of Music. His first Trumpet Concerto – entitled Bridge – is one of his best-known works, and has been performed regularly the world over since its first premiere in Gothenburg in 1999. The work consists of three sections which are weaved together by the solo parts played by the trumpet soloist. The music moves between modernistic styles and a more late-Romantic expression. The soloist is Ole Edvard Antonsen, the internationally-acclaimed Norwegian trumpetist.

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873–1943) completed his Symphony No. 3 in 1935 and 1936. Nearly three decades had passed since his second symphony, which was a great success when it was performed in 1908. Together with his popular piano concertos, the second symphony cemented the image of Rachmaninov as a composer with a flair for producing lyrical melodies, strong emotional content, and a rich, Romantic orchestra sound. The third symphony is considered to be a transition to the more pragmatic, transparent style which characterises the music he composed towards the end of his life. Here, Rachmaninov breaks new ground when it comes to orchestration and form, yet always with a sense of a melancholy glance backwards in time.

(Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)

We currently have reduced audience capacity due to infection control regulations. Some concerts are therefore sold out or nearly sold out. We hope to be able to welcome larger audiences soon!


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: