Beethoven's fifth symphony

This concert was played:

  1. Symphony No. 5
  1. Marek Janowski conductor

Marek Janowski conducts Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No. 5.

The opening chords of Beethoven’s famed fifth symphony ignite a violent battle of fate. “And fate comes knocking, Beethoven is said to have proclaimed. That these are the composer’s own words is not at all certain, and have possibly been imagined by his eager student, Anton Schindler, but the work will forever be known as Beethoven’s Fate Symphony. Many interpret the musical progression in the work as a battle against, and a triumph over, a gruesome fate. This model of musical progression − from battle to victory − was to characterise many symphonies throughout the long 19th century.

The opening motif (ta ta ta taaa!) is doubtless the central musical idea in the symphony, which hammers itself into the consciousness of most listeners, but the work has many other original ideas. The variations in the second movement are an odd mixture of a sweet cantilena and strict military music, and the third movement is at one time mysterious yet replete with Beethoven’s capricious sense of humour. The great symphonic triumph in the last movement carries it all off.

Prepare yourself for a musical battle of life and death!

(In photo: Francesco Piemontesi, Photo: Marco Borggreve; Text: Thomas Erma Møller; Translation from Norwegian: Sarah Osa)


  • Adult: 100 - 320 NOK
  • Student: 100 - 210 NOK
  • Child: 100 NOK

The concert is not included in any subscriptions.