Mellomspill II

Mellomspill II: Nachruf / Arne Nordheim / Eivind Gullberg Jensen / Oslo Philharmonic

Oslo Philharmonic on Youtube

From the Mellomspill II series: Arne Nordheim's Nachruf performed by the Oslo Philharmonic with conductor Eivind Gullberg Jensen.

Watch Arne Nordheim's orchestral piece Nachruf in the digital concert series Mellomspill II!

With today's guidelines in Oslo, it is not possible to play concerts with an audience in the hall. But the Oslo Philharmonic will not stop playing! During the next weeks, you can watch the orchestra online in the concert series Mellomspill II − a sequel to this spring's Mellomspill (Interlude) series, which lasted from April to June. (The recordings will be made in accordance with current infection control guidelines.)

You can experience all the Mellomspill broadcasts on, on our Youtube channel or on our Facebook page.

Program for Mellomspill II:

Thursday 26th November at 21:00

Henry Purcell: March from "Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary"
Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 49, "La Passione"
Klaus Mäkelä, conductor

This concert is postponed. Read more: Mellomspill II-broadcasts postponed until next week

Thursday 3rd December at 21:00

John Dowland: Lachrimae Antiquae
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2
Klaus Mäkelä, conductor

(The music will be available on Youtube for 30 days after the premiere.)

"A sense of what's possible"

Alex Ross in The New Yorker wrote about the Mellomspill series in May, in an article about the international field of digital concerts:

"A sense of what’s possible comes from the Oslo Philharmonic, which has been producing rich-sounding, visually atmospheric live streams in a series it calls “Mellomspill,” or “Interlude.”

Read the article here: Concerts in the Void