Friendship and Longing for Spring

  1. Piano Concerto No. 1
  2. Symphony No. 1: "Spring"
  1. Fabio Luisi conductor
  2. Lise de la Salle piano

Music by two composers with close, if brief ties; Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

When they met, Robert Schumann (1810−1856) was a famous composer, and Johannes Brahms (1833−1897) was a blank canvas. Schumann was so impressed that he soon proclaimed 20-year-old Brahms as the next great composer.

Shortly thereafter, Robert Schumann ended up in a mental hospital after attempting suicide, and Brahms was left with a heavy burden both personally and musically. It took four years to complete his first large orchestral work, Piano Concerto No. 1.

Robert Schumann’s “Spring Symphony” came into existence in far happier days. He married in 1840, and the time that followed was a creative flourishing. His wife, Clara, encouraged him to write symphonies. In the winter of 1841, he found an outlet for the longing for spring in his light and optimistic Symphony No. 1. Italian Fabio Luisi is one of the great conductors of our times and now leads the Oslo Philharmonics for the first time in ten years.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: