Dazzling Sounds

  1. Fairytale Poem
  2. Violin Concerto No. 3
  3. Symphony No. 5
  1. Han-Na Chang conductor
  2. Benjamin Beilman violin

Han-Na Chang conducts music by Sofia Gubaidulia, Camille Sant-Saëns, and Sergei Prokofiev.

Russian-Tatar Sofia Gubaidulina (born 1931) met considerable opposition in the Soviet era for her experimental tonal language. In the 1980s, she had her breakthrough in the West, and today she is counted among the most influential composers of our time. Fairytale Poem of 1971 is based on music she wrote for a children’s radio play.

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835−1921) wrote his Violin Concerto No. 3 for the famous Spanish violinist and composer Pablo de Sarasate, who premiered it in 1881. Particularly the first and the last movements ooze of virtuous drama and dazzling violin sounds.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891−1953) wrote his Symphony No. 5 in the summer of 1944. He referred to it as a tribute to the free, happy human being. The symphony struck the optimistic spirit of the age perfectly and was a huge success both in the USSR and the USA in 1945. It has remained one of the masterpieces of the 20th century of its genre.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: