Into the Unknown

This concert was played:

  1. Métaboles
  2. Piano Concerto No. 27
  3. Metacosmos
  4. An der schönen blauen Donau
  5. La Valse
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Kristian Bezuidenhout piano

Klaus Mäkelä conducts music moving on the brink of the known and established.

Viennese Waltz King Johann Strauss II wrote his famous waltz An der schönen blauen Donau in 1867. Roughly 50 years later, Maurice Ravel wrote La Valse, a tribute to Vienna and the waltz. Many people heard described, in the piece, the collapse of the golden age of the waltz – and of the society that surrounded it.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote his Piano Concerto No. 27 at the beginning of the last year he lived. The composer was immersed in trouble, and his popularity was waning. The final piano concerto is a lyrical, personal letter of no words from a master on his way down.

Icelandic Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s music has been performed both by the Berlin and the New York Philharmonics. The orchestral work Metacosmos, of 2018, is inspired by speculations on what it feels like to fall into a black hole, into the complete unknown.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: