The Resurrection Symphony

This concert was played:

  1. Symfoni nr. 2 «Resurrection»
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Mari Eriksmoen soprano
  3. Elisabeth Kulman mezzo soprano
  4. Oslo Philharmonic Choir
  5. Øystein Fevang choir conductor

Mahler’s second symphony moves through Faith, Doubt, and Meaninglessness before Hope gets the upper hand.

Gustav Mahler experienced his first great success in 1888 when he completed an opera by Carl Maria von Weber. In the commotion after the premiere, he hallucinated about observing his own funeral. The experience left a deep impression on him and formed the foundation of the first movement of Mahler’s Symphony No. 2.

A few years would pass before the work on the rest of the symphony took shape. At the funeral of a close colleague in 1894 it dawned on him, and he completed the symphony that same year. According to the texts Mahler wrote about the music, it circles around the themes of mortality and immortality. Is there life after death? The symphony moves through faith, doubt, and meaninglessness, before hope, of resurrection for all of humanity, finally wins through.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: