Ravel’s Rich World of Sound

This concert was played:

  1. Alborada del gracioso
  2. Piano Concerto in G major
  3. Daphnis & Chloe
  1. Matthias Pintscher conductor
  2. Cedric Tiberghien piano
  3. Oslo Philharmonic Choir
  4. Øystein Fevang choir conductor

A full-length concert with Maurice Ravel’s colorful and fascinating orchestral music.

In the first decade of the 1900s, Maurice Ravel had his breakthrough as a composer, with a distinctive tonal language characterized by a unique palette of sounds and a fascination with Spanish music and culture. Ravel’s mother was Basque but grew up in Madrid, and his image of Spain was based on his mother’s memories, stories, and songs from her home country.

Alborada del gracioso, Spanish for the “Morning Love Song of the Jester”, is a colorful and humorous orchestral piece, originally written for the piano (1906). In Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major (1931), Basque sounds are combined with inspiration from jazz. The ballet music for Daphnis and Chloe (1912) was no success on stage. In the concert hall, however, the version for orchestra and choir is perhaps Ravel’s most magnificent masterpiece.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions:

This concert is also played: