The Many Faces of Death

  1. Danse Macabre
  2. Songs and dances of Death
  3. Threnody for the victims of Hiroshima
  4. Symphony No. 4
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Shenyang bass baritone

Klaus Mäkelä conducts music with a death theme by Saint-Saëns, Mussorgsky, Sibelius and Penderecki.

Camille Saint-Saëns’ Danse Macabre starts with twelve strokes of midnight on Halloween. Death itself awakens the dead from their graves, playing his violin, and the skeletons dance until dawn.

In Mussorgsky’s Songs and Dances of Death, Death is presented as the babysitter of a dying child, as the suitor of a terminally ill woman and as a commanding officer of soldiers who perished in battle.

Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No 4 was created in the wake of the composer’s own cancer diagnosis. The subsequent operations were frightening experiences. Fear of death and relapse marked him in the following years, and the symphony is one of his darkest works.

With his work Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima, Krzysztof Penderecki created music of one of the 20th century’s most terrible incidents. The piece is dedicated to the victims of the atom bomb that fell over Hiroshima in 1945.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK