Classical Hour: The Many Faces of Death

  1. Threnody for the victims of Hiroshima
  2. Danse Macabre
  3. Symphony No. 4
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor

Klaus Mäkelä conducts music with a death theme by Saint-Saëns, Sibelius and Penderecki.

Camille Saint-Saëns’ Danse Macabre starts with twelve strokes of midnight on Halloween. Death itself awakens the dead from their graves, playing his violin, and the skeletons dance until dawn.

Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No 4 was created in the wake of the composer’s own cancer diagnosis. The subsequent operations were frightening experiences. Fear of death and relapse marked him in the following years, and the symphony is one of his darkest works.

With his work Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima, Krzysztof Penderecki created music of one of the 20th century’s most terrible incidents. The piece is dedicated to the victims of the atom bomb that fell over Hiroshima in 1945.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 380 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 190 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: