Moving Pictures

This concert was played:

  1. Isle of the Dead
  2. Violin Concerto
  3. Die Seejungfrau
  1. Vasily Petrenko conductor
  2. Stefan Jackiw violin

Music inspired by film, painting, and fairy tales.

Sergey Rachmaninoff wrote the symphonic poem The Isle of the Dead, after having seen Arnold Böcklin’s painting of the same title in 1907 in Paris. The painting depicts a person approaching the gloomy islet in a small boat, and the symphonic poem starts with music describing the waves and the oar strokes.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957) scored a success at the age of 11 when the ballet The Snowman was performed in Vienna. Later, he enjoyed great success as an opera composer; in the 1930s, his success continued as one of the pioneers of Hollywood film music. The violin concerto is based on themes from the films and is his most played work for the concert hall.

Alexander Zemlinsky (1871−1942) was the composition teacher of Korngold as well as other composers such as Alban Berg and Arnold Schönberg. The symphonic poem The Mermaid (premiered in 1905) is based on the H.C. Andersen fairy tale.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK

The concert is included in the following subscriptions: