Italian Inspiration and Finnish Feelings

  1. Orfeo (excerpts)
  2. Concerto for two cellos and orchestra
  3. Symphony No. 2
  1. Klaus Mäkelä conductor
  2. Louisa Tuck cello
  3. Truls Mørk cello

Klaus Mäkela conducts music by Sibelius, Vivaldi and Monteverdi.

Jean Sibelius laid the foundation for his Symphony No. 2 during a stay in Italy in 1901. Deeply engaged in the myth of Don Juan as well as in Dante’s Divine Comedy, he considered both as titles for the music. Back home in Finland, he still completed it as a symphony, and the music was perceived as a powerful message in the Finnish struggle for independence.

Antonio Vivaldi wrote several hundred solo concerts, but only one for two cellos and orchestra. Here, Norwegian star cellist Truls Mørk meets the Oslo Philharmonic’s principal cello Louisa Tuck for brilliant interplay.

The concert opens with music by Italy’s possibly greatest composer through the ages: Excerpts from the opera L’Orfeo by Claudio Monteverdi.

This concert is sold out.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK