Russian Fairy Tales

  1. This Midnight Hour
  2. Violin Concerto No. 1
  3. Festive Overture
  4. The Firebird (1945 suite)
  1. Ben Gernon conductor
  2. Sonoko Miriam Welde violin
  3. Ung Filharmoni

Distinctive storytelling and fairyland atmospheres by Igor Stravinsky and Sergei Prokofiev.

In 1910, Igor Stravinsky got his big breakthrough when his ballet The Firebird was premiered in Paris. The story is based on Russian fairy tales and involves a prince, thirteen enchanted princesses, an evil sorcerer, and the mythical Firebird. Stravinsky’s music is rich in magical sounds and distinctive storytelling. At this concert, you will hear the suite from 1945.

Sergei Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was also premiered in Paris in 1923 and has since become one of the most popular violin concertos of the 20th century. The music fluctuates between ethereal, fairylike atmospheres, and raw, fervent parts. The soloist is Sonoko Miriam Welde, one of our time’s most prominent Norwegian violinists.

The English composer Anna Clyne (born 1980) wrote the orchestral work This Midnight Hour in 2015. The work is based on poems by Charles Baudelaire and Juan Rámon Jiménez.

Ticket sales begin in August.


  • Adult: 150 - 540 NOK
  • Senior: 150 - 430 NOK
  • Student: 150 - 270 NOK
  • Child: 150 NOK